Monty Python and the Quest for the Holy Grail

Year Released: 1975
Main Stars: Terry Gillian, Terry Jones, Michael Palin, John Cleese, Graham Chapman
Last watched:
23rd April 2011
Number Watches: oh, 5 maybe 6.

Ok, I know, this isn’t a great movie. There, I said it. Now can we move past the film-quality critique and get to what’s really important?

“Someday, lad, all this will be yours.” “What, the curtains?”

“Bring out your dead!”

“Ni and Noooooo wong”

“It’s only a model.”

I hadn’t watched this for years as I remember not liking the vapid quality of the plot. I didnt like the police being involved or the ending but more than that I loved Life of Brian and wanted Holy Grail to be the same. It isn’t.

Yesterday I visited Doune Castle where they filmed most of the castle scenes and I was suddenly blown away with the down to earth nature of this movie. It’s a film made by a bunch of lads. It’s a film anyone could make, even today. It’s about having a laugh. And if you approach it with that in mind, it’s an incredible box of choccies with the most glorious centres. Some coffee creams and a praline or two but for the most part yummy.

I can quote whole scenes in the way I know the lyrics to a song. Indeed the timing and words all fit together so well it really is wrong to get them out of place or misquote something. Am I a geek about Python? Yeah. So what.

The massive bunch of DVD extras are put together in a menu system that cries out for its own series! Take note, everyone else, and put some care into your DVD like what this has, ok?

Nice DVD, nice film. Still waiting for the follow up.

 

Keep DVD?
Got it with the rest of the films in one big 6 DVD box set. Keep.
Watch if on TV? 
Yeah.
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Have an affair with, Marry and Snog.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Comedy, Film Review, Historic, I currently have this as a keepsie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

