Ronin

Year Released: 1998
Main Stars: Robert DeNiro, Jean ‘Leon’ Luc
Last watched: 15th April 2011
Number Watches: 3 I think.

Nice. I wanted to watch this again as I’d only watched it in stages before; you know the way it happens, you watch it on tv and see a few scenes then have to do something else and then you come back to it so the next time you watch it you do the same but see different parts!

So this time I’d bought the DVD and watched it all the way through.

Main actors are wonderful. Robert is incredibly believable and Jean is brilliantly charismatic himself. Girl is good but I didn’t like the accent. The core actors are characters that work really well and the script is sparingly great. Scenes work well with each other and with the action so there’s no time when I thought I’d go and make a cup of tea. It kept me with it all the time.

I’d say the end, where Jean walks up the stairs, suddenly made me realise that this is a film that would be a perfect example of a classis ‘old’ film of the 60s and 70s. I hadn’t realised it but the whole story would have easily translated into any era.

Action is good and brutal, especially the shooting and car chases. Nothing is gratuitous – I know this sounds weird but all the stunts and gun fire are exactly what you would expect. Where some films rely on one or two hair raising events, Ronin gives what it needs and doesn’t hold the punches.

Perhaps the music, when it’s used, could be a bit less 70s but to be fair, there isn’t a huge orchestral movement dramatising every syllable and the silences work well.

Maybe it’s me but I wouldn’t watch this too many times more as I think I want to remember it the way it was when I ‘got it’ for the first time. It’s a good film and if there is every a showing on the big screen again I think I’d probably try to catch that but as small screen, you’ve got to push yourself to see it whole and make an evening of it since there isn’t much gloss and I’m getting accustomed to that particular sweetness these days. Yes, I think it’s me.

Having caught the Fockers films recently I really appreciate seeing Robert in one of his better roles being it a straight forward, ordinary but sharp minded guy who just happens to know stuff about stuff.

 

Keep DVD?
Yes.
Watch if on TV? 
Probably but I recognise others might prefer to watch something else.
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Marry. Not sure if it would be a long marriage though.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Action, Film Review, I currently have this as a keepsie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

