Watchmen

Year Released: 2009
Main Stars: Girl in tight outfit, some big blue dude.
Last watched: 2011
Number Watches: 1 and a bit

As a kid I enjoyed Marvel comics more than DC but that didnt stop my first comics experiences being of Flash (super hero, not scifi planet saver) and some strange metal men thing.
Watchmen neatly fits my idea of non-marvel stuff and should be a refreshing change from the ultra smooth Spideys and Starky-Man stuff. It’s also quirky and I like quirky. There’s a feeling of steam-punk about it and I’ve found I like that in a pretty, young picture. There’s also that nostalgia of what could have been had the past not darn well got up and gone all gritty and smudged.

Good effect, wonderful sets, seamless CGI and good acting as well as a gamit of production values.

There wasnt any heart to it though. Too dark without any pay off, too depressing without any hope. I’m not totally sold on ignoring it but at the same time I wouldnt rush back.

Keep DVD?
No.
Watch if on TV?
Maybe. Yes. I think I’d give it another go.
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Snog but perhaps it needs to wear some strawberry flavoured lippy before I’d commit.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Action, Comic / 'Graphic Novel', Fantasy, Film Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

