The Damned United

Year Released: 2009
Main Stars: Michael Sheen, Timothy Spall
Last watched: June 2011
Number Watches: 1

Rivalry. Obsession. Intimacy. Fights. Yes, it’s the smell of… League Football.

Caught this late night on TV and kept watching. That says something about the acting and the gripiness of the script. I don’t like football much and I’m certainly not interested in the politics behind the game. Watching a match is about as far as I get and even then I don’t care who wins.

That said, I was loathed to switch over. The emotion was palpable from all taking part and the scenes were believable throughout the 90 minutes (or whatever it was). It’s a film of two halves mingled together to keep you asking questions. The lads done good but I must say that the thing is just that the ball was hitting the net and the players were… hang on, sorry, got too much into it there.

Anyway, it’s a good full on match, never boring until the very end where my indifference to footie people came to the fore.

Ultimately I don’t care about the real people that are being portrayed and I wouldn’t watch this again. It’s been well made, high paced and probably captures the people and events accurately but for me it’s like looking behind the scenes of a play – you’d be interested once and only once, then you want to see something else.

Those of a certain era and hobby will no doubt love it. I’ve watched enough.

Keep DVD?
No
Watch if on TV?
No
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Avoid.

About Simon Trail

I'm just another film watcher with an opinion.
This entry was posted in Film Review, Historic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment