Crimson Tide

Year Released: 1995
Main Stars: Denzel Washington, Gene Hackman
Last watched: March 2015
Review Date: August 2011
Number Watches: 4

“If I’m wrong we’re at war. God help us all.”

There are two submarine films I can think of I’d watch every time and one I can’t remember much about but I’ve been told is very worth it; Crimson Tide, Hunt for Red October and Das Boot, in that order. Just saying is all.

Denzel and Gene along with a gamit of wonderfully underplayed side characters make this an incredibly credible and strong film. Superb lighting and sets are the skeleton on which a neat interplay of plot, stucatto commands and tense nerves play orchestral…um…thingys and… nope, I lost it. I can’t do that poncy talk crap. Anyway, this is a good film.

I love the fact that the moody music sounds like Russian choir music when it’s not sounding like the Pirates of the Carribean. Russian music for Americans? Pirates under the waves? Brilliant.

Six years on and it still packs a punch, not because of the politics but the human interactions in a small box hundreds of meters beneath the sea. Deep.

Go see, get and see, just damn well see, ok!?

 

UPDATE: March 2015: watched it again. Soooooo good. A few flaws creeping in but the performances and pace are still wonderful.

 

Keep DVD?
Yes.
Watch if on TV?
Yes. Always.
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Yes, Sir! I concurr, Sir!

About Simon Trail

I'm just another film watcher with an opinion.
This entry was posted in Action, Drama, Film Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

