REC

Year Released: 2007
Main Stars: Spanish peeps like Manuela Velasco
Last watched: September 2011
Number Watches: 1

REC succeeds where a lot of other shaky-cam films don’t. It gets a thumbs up from me. Ok, not a great proclamation but this is my blurb so nyah.

It was always going to be a ‘real-camera’ movie so I was sure I’d be building in a room full of hate but I stuck with it until the action happened. I was rewarded with wonderfully dark and creepy corridors of doom and scariness and I even accepted that the view had to be swinging from side to side or resting on the floor since it is an essential part of the plot, kind of. There was no pretence about it, this was obviously hand-held and had to be. Things like CSI try to edge it up a bit with the occasional wobble and it just makes me turn off.

There’s a lot of ordinary-people acting going on and even the shouty-ness of Manuela is believable if you accept that she and the cameraman are obsessive about filming everything. Dont think there’s much I could say was done badly, it’s a very well done snippet of zombie movie. Imagine a normal dead-walking flick where lots of people run around the streets and charge in and out of trouble spots looking for some way out. Now stop running for a moment and look at one of the buildings the zombies are in. REC is showing you what might happen in one of them. Like one of my exgirlfriends, it’s small, looks cheap but is actually really scary.

Recommended. The end half hour is also not a time to be holding a beer or indeed anything unstable that might be thrown in the air in a moment of girly scaredness. I assume.

Keep DVD?
For a while. Not into rewatching real horrors thought. (I dont count Alien as a horror)
Watch if on TV?
Yes. And you should too.
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Sno – AAAAAAAAARGH! – NO! TAKE HER, NOT ME! AAAAAAAAAAA! whew, got away with just a bite in the neck. Snog.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Film Review, Horror. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

