The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Män som hatar kvinnor)

Year Released: 2009

Main Stars: Dunno. Call me uncultured but I don’t know these guys yet. Go look them up.

Last watched: December 2011

Review Date: December 2011

Number Watches: 1

“I would never have done it, Lisbeth, but I know why you did.”

The wife read the books and I was intigued by the title and build up about this great event in movie history. Turns out it was the hype of Hollywood and the forthcoming US version. This is not another Silence of the Lambs.

It was okay. Good story and nice tensions although the big, powerful ‘family’ involved seemed a little dull and even unnecessary. Interaction between characters was sparse, the attraction between the reporter and the girl seemed incongruous and I have no idea why they changed the title to the Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. The original title means Men Who Hate Women.

The way it was filmed reminded me of Scandanavian and German TV crime thrillers, lots of bleakness and no music. I’m guessing the remake, out yesterday as I write this, will be a bit moredramatic with action and explosions and shouting. Better? I’ll let you know.

Keep DVD?

No.

Watch if on TV?

No.

Snog, Marry, Avoid?

Avoid.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Film Review, Thriller. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

