The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian

Year Released: 2008

Main Stars: Liam Neilson, some kids, a big lion.

Last watched: December 2011

Review Date: December 2011

Number Watches:  2

Brilliant computerised stuff. Can’t see the join most of the time. I don’t want to use a comparison to the first Narnia film but if I did I would say this one has more balls to it and would get my vote for a re-watch rather than it’s lighter, more child-friendly predecessor.

Lots of dark corners here for nasty little human frailties to poke their beady eyes from. Desire for power by over-throwing family, revenge, cruelty for the sake of it. The whole thing works together as a full film, even with the kids at the centre being a bit rubbish at acting.

However it’s still not a classic in the sense of the books and I can’t help feeling that the problem is the Narnia series itself. Maybe if there had not been the books then the films would have been a wonderful fantasy with no expectations to quash. Is it me or the movie? Don’t know. All I know is that I would not mind never seeing this again. I have nothing to remember from it that won’t disappear once I’ve published this review. Can’t fault Prince Caspian except to say sorry, Aslan, You don’t save the day for me.

Keep DVD?
No.

Watch if on TV?
Once or twice to confirm I don’t like it.

Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Avoid.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Action, Fantasy, Film Review. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian

  1. Pingback: Prince Caspian by CS Lewis (Chronicles of Narnia #4) « arlasworld

Leave a Reply

