The Slipper And The Rose

Year Released: 1976

Main Stars: Richard Chamberlain, Gemma Craven (looking very cute), Michael Hordern (voice of Paddington Bear), Kenneth More and Annette Crosbie.

Last watched: January 2012

Review Date: January 2012

Number Watches:  1
This was not my choice, ok? I was changing the guitar strings whilst it was on. It was the wife who chose to watch this. I did not make any effort to switch it on and I only watched it for the sake of a review.

You know what amazed me about this? Not that it is crap, the songs stink and that the young Annette is in it. No, the reason I am totally amazed is that I thought it was released in 1976. I mean, that’s when they were filming Star Wars! It’s the same year as Rocky, Westworld and The Omen!! What on earth is this rubbish musical doing in amoungst all that???

Bold move.

Humour is thrown in by Paddington Bear, er, I mean Michael, and other assorted background characters. Richard and Gemma are able to act seriously and make their Prince and Princess-to-be important enough. Kenneth and Gemma play a very nice scene when he has to tell her to bugger off since she’s not Princess material. Then everything goes song-shaped. Oh, the sets and costumes are exquisite but the dancing and music is terrible, like some left over stuff from all the other well known musicals.

Oh, well, so much for my first review of 2012.

 

Keep DVD?
No, no, no.

Watch if on TV?
Oh, no, no no.

Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Avoid, avoid, avoid.

About Simon Trail

I'm just another film watcher with an opinion.
This entry was posted in Film Review, Musical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

