The A-Team

Year Released: 2010

Main Stars: Liam Neeson, Bradley Cooper, Jessica Biel, Quinton Jackson, Sharlto Copley (I have no idea who those last two are. I’m just scared not to include them)

Last watched: February 2012

Review Date: February 2012

Number Watches: 1

How do I put this….

Da de-da DAAAA, de da da daaaaa, dum-de-da-daaa, dum-de-da-da… DA DA!

There are two stars in this movie that are not in the cast. The A Team van and the theme music. These, more than anything else, sum up the audacious quality of the series and the total piss-take offered by the movie. Some films don’t want to be associated with their parents but here, I am very glad to say, we have the entire family as well as a sly old bit part from the original Face, Dirk Benedict. Don’t blink, though!

Although she was a teenaged during the eighties, my girl, she no likey the A-Team series. I KNOW! Don’t blame me! Apparently it wasn’t part of her life. It seems incredible but true, she had never seen any of it. Well, she LOVED the film. Especially the 3D bit. ( No, the movie isn’t 3D. You have to see it to know what I’m talking about.)

I wanted to watch it to see the birth of Hannibal and Mr T and Face and Murdoch all over again but when this big screen outing began I admit to being quite unimpressed with Liam. He’s too scrawny, you know? Smith was small but charismatically wide. However, it didn’t take long for me to be all smiles as everything else came together like a cuban cigar and a bucket full of non-lethal explosives. I came round to Liam as well. This is a fun film.

Plot – don’t ask, not important. Direction – yep, good, not great. Some scenes could have been a bit more full except maybe they would have messed up the A-Team feel by being too smoth. Lighting / effects / etc. – all good. Acting – actually pretty spot on. I mean, you won’t see no rush to the oscars but I never felt I was watching the cast rather than the characters. Jessica was a bit hit and miss but she’s a girl in a guy movie so just needed to get out the way a lot.

 

Good fun, lives up to the series. Hope there’s a follow up.

 

Keep DVD?

Yes, sucka!

Watch if on TV?

Of course, fool!

Snog, Marry, Avoid?

Snog ’cause, let’s face it, I love it when a film comes together.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Action, Comedy, Film Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

