Knight and Day

Year Released: 2010
Main Stars: Tom Cruise, Cameron Diaz
Last watched:
April 2012
Review Date: April 2012
Number Watches: 1

Was this any good? Let my other half tell you her thoughts…

Ok, so this was stuck on as a ‘let’s watch a film tonight’ job. To be honest I wasn’t really expecting too much from it as I’m not a huge fan of Tom Cruise, but – and maybe because I had a kind of ‘meh’ feeling towards it – I actually enjoyed it. There are loads of special effects etc and the storyline is a bit silly but everything rolls along quickly so you don’t really bother about it. The characters, in particular Cameron’s, are likeable and seem to have good on-screen chemistry so the humour between them works well.

This film got panned when it came out and I’m not terribly sure why. Were the critics expecting another Mission Impossible? I don’t think TC’s acting was any more wooden than any of his previous films. However I think they nailed it getting Cameron Diaz to co-star. I think her acting style and comedy timing was ideal for this film, and I don’t think it would have worked as well with another actress in it.  It’s bubblegum but with a bit of action, a bit of snogging, Cameron being ditzy, Tom being action man, guns, baddies, and a bit of a European sight-seeing thrown in for good measure. Not bad at all for a standard length film with a barely plausible plotline, but it’s fun – and let’s face it – that’s never a bad thing!

Keep DVD?
No. Without me.
Watch if on TV?
With me.
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Snog on island in a bikini. 

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Action, Comedy, Film Review, Romantic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

