King Lear

Year Released: 2003
Main Stars: Brian Blessed
Last watched:
 April 2012
Review Date: May 2012
Number Watches: 1

King Lear is not for the faint hearted. Not a big story, just a lot of asides into plot devices that make things seem overly complicated.

So I have no idea where I got this DVD but it took over a year to get around to watching it. I mean, King Lear, 3 hours long, Brian Blessed. That is a potent combination to take up your time with. Brian is a big personality and this is a big play so I can always find something easier to watch.

But on a rainy day when she was out running I made my lunch then sat down to eat in front of the legend that is the Lear. Well, ok, it starts as just another TV adaptation but when Brian appears I was amazed at how much I was suddenly in the world of Lear.

Brian directed this and has managed to make it suddenly accessible with phrasing that doesn’t take a PHD to decipher. This is a film about an old man  loosing his mind and the political problems of a disfunctional family that has too much power. I get it!

Still, it does go on a bit. All power to Brian, when he is on he shines as a fantastic actor but there could have been a lot more editting to make this funner. I guess it’s Billy Shakespear’s work, though. You can’t edit the Bard too much.

Keep DVD?
No.
Watch if on TV?
No. Sorry, Bri, don’t shout at me. 
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Avoid. Good though it is, you still have to like TV versions of Shakespeare and that can be a slog. 

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Drama, Film Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

