Shutter Island

Year Released: 2010
Main Stars: Leonard DiCaprio, Ben Kingsley, Mark Buffalo
Last watched: August 2012
Review Date: September 2012
Number Watches: 1

Mad people on a scary island and lots of weird goings on. My kinda movie. Never sure about Leo but he’s come on a lot since The Beach. Now he still doesn’t appear to be older than about 20 but at least he has wrinkles and a bit of a craggyness about him. The rest of the cast and crew do a sterling job and it’s a good thriller with a couple of twists. Not what I expected though. Maybe I built it up as some kind of ghost story so perhaps I need to give it another watch.

Creepy and provoking I found there were rare occaisions where the direction was a bit ponderous, spending too long on the meaningful stare or intense thought but these were very small problems in a good adventure.

Good fun and big on making you feel like you know what’s going on then twisting it a little more.

Keep DVD?
Yes, for the moment.
Watch if on TV?
Yes
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Snog

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Drama, Film Review, Thriller. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shutter Island

  1. I actually found this movie quite offensive.

      • I’m sorry that it has taken me so long to answer your question. Please believe that my technical ineptness led to this delay.

        I found the movie Shutter Island to be a good thriller until we begin to learn that the main character is mentally ill. I’m not offended by the main character having a mental illness. I was offended by the implication at the end of the movie that it was better to die than to be mentally ill. I may have been a bit sensitive about that because there has been a lot of media lately implying that it is better to be dead than to be physically disabled. Having a mental illness or having a physical impairment can make life more challenging. There is no doubt about that. However, people with these conditions can still lead rewarding lives.

Leave a Reply

