Thunderball

Year Released: 1965
Main Stars: Sean ConneryLois Maxwell, Bernard LeeDesmond Llewelyn, Fiona Volpe, Julie Christie
Last watched: October 2012
Review Date: November 2012
Number Watches: 2, possibly 3 but I was a kid and you watch anything as a kid.

“See you later, irrigator.”

“I think he got the point.”

“Would you mind giving me something to put on?”

 

I’m so going to be hunted down by Bond fans for this but…. Thunderball is really dull.

Obviously it’s Sean and obviously it’s Bond. Those two facts are the only reason it’s ‘worth’ watching provided you want to see Sean and Bond and have seen the other Sean Bond films. After that, there’s nothing. The effects are slow and the reason for Bond to get in the scrapes he does is even more flimsy than usual, so much so that I actually wondered if I’d missed bits. The underwater sequences, whilst no doubt settnig underwater fights for all movies thereafter, are a little slow and most of the action just doesn’t seem to be particularly useful. As usual the two things keeping it together are the music and Sean, both have charisma and confidence.

Good points? Well…. Domino. She rocks the part and looks the part.

Not a good movie in it’s own right and I’d certainly not have it in my Bond portfolio. (see what I did there??) This flick adds nothing to the franchise and even the theme tune is missable.

 

Keep DVD?
Not if I had the choice but I got it as part of a box set so I have to.
Watch if on TV?
No
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Avoid-a-ball.

 

About Simon Trail

I'm just another film watcher with an opinion.
This entry was posted in Action, Film Review, Thriller. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

