You Only Live Twice

Year Released: 1967
Main Stars: Sean ConneryLois Maxwell, Bernard LeeDesmond Llewelyn, Mie Hama, Donald Pleasence, Karin Dor, Charles Gray, Burt Kwouk, Akiko Wakabayashi
Last watched: October 2012
Review Date: November 2012
Number Watches: 2 or 3

“Little Nelly got a hot reception”

“Darling, I give you very best duck.”

The theme tune just smoulders into your head when you say the title. That’s what I call a good theme tune! And the rest of the score is pretty useful too.

Sean look old here, even though he’s only about 5 years on from the first one, but he holds the attention and has uber confidence. The usual cast know what they’re doing and everyone else is well cast for this well filmed Bond movie.

Is it fun? Yes. Is it worth watching? Yes. Does it hold up after so many years of action movies? Well, kinda. Nobody will ever be disappointed with You Only Live Twice although they might have a few issues with the plot as it dives from one rock pool to another, creating adventures from nothing. Really, there isn’t much in here that Bond actually needed to do, when you think about it.

When I first watched this one I was a kid and everything was magical – the baddie’s lair, the weird and unexplainable space scenes. This time I was impressed by the sheer size of that lair – I mean, I was looking at it and genuinely thinking that they spent a lot of cash on computer effects before I remembered that they didn’t have those kind of computers! It’s an actual size, freaking, spaceship hanger!!!!

Forget the swirling, hazy attempt at spying and just relax into it and you won’t be disappointed. Mind you, it’s not a classic.

Keep DVD?
Tricky one. I’ll take the fifth on this as my copy is part of a box set so I can’t chuck it. 

Watch if on TV?
Yes.

Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Snog in a crater with a big white pussy on my lap.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Action, Film Review, Thriller. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

