Skyfall

Year Released: 2012
Main Stars: Daniel Craig, Judi Dench, Ralph Fiennes, Javier Bardem
Last watched: December 2014
Initial Review Date: November 2012
Last Review Date: December 2014
Number Watches: 2

“Eject me. See if I care.”

IMAX, sorted. I love IMAX. Not so keen on 3D all over the place so it’s refreshing that I wasn’t forced to endure that here. In IMAX you don’t need to look at the back of someone’s head.

Skyfall. Bond. Daniel. Judi. Not so sorted.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t think it was up to much. Not bad in the sense that it was badly made or the acting was substandard or the script was too rubbish. None of those are true. I just didn’t like the continual reference to other Bond movies and how much this was a new Bond but would become the new ‘old’ Bond by brushing aside the clingy old stuffiness of bygone icons whilst bringing back the cool old-fashionedness of the original, sturdy, upper-class club that is MI6 and that has money to fund anything Bond needs to save the world.

Yes, I know, I’m sorry. That last bit seemed to be very film-review speak in an up my own arse style. What I’m trying to say is that, in my humble opinion, this was nothing more than a transitional story that sets up the next couple of films. I didn’t get the need for most of it and sometimes there was a big in-yer-face quality to the points about the old versus new. Why not stick to Bond being a brute whilst adding in something about how he gets his in-depth knowledge of wines and brandy? No need for so much of the ‘you all old, man, and, like, out of touch and stuff’ that then gets followed up with the rebuttle ‘yeah, well, not me, dude, I still swing with the cool boys and stuff.’ Both Daniel and Judi seemed a little lost in the script and I think it’s because someone writing or directing was trying too hard.

Then there’s Q. Come on. He’s a kid. You expect that to be top of security and then to display everything on a humongous screen in a room that has glass walls? Then there’s the ‘code breaking’ bit when all we get is a spirally picture and some text. We’ve had enough computing in our lives to do better than that, surely?

Sorry, I’m spitting a bit now, I know. It’s just that I expected a more down-to-earth Bond rather than this obvious old-guy-done-good thing. Most people I know seem to have liked it so perhaps I should calm down and catch it on DVD before updating this review. Doubt I’ll like the theme tune any more though. Nothing good about that bland nonsense. Bit too X Factor awards for me – middle ground and not big enough.

Go watch it. See if I care. I’m still in a grumpy huff about it.

Update: December 2014, TV

Still rubbish. Not big, not clever and too many transitional nods to past and future films. Get back to the glamour and intellect and stop messing with the ‘arc’ stories to make some kind of history. THIS IS BOND WE’RE TALKING ABOUT! GET BACK TO BOND!

 

Keep DVD?
Yes because it’s the hard-nosed Daniel with his finger on the trigger and I want to know if it was really that bad.

Watch if on TV?
Yes. But how many times?

Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Snog but not with tongues.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Action, Film Review, Thriller. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

