The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

Year Released: 2012
Main Stars: Martin Freeman, Ian McKellen, Andy Serkis, Ken Stott, James Nesbitt  the usual LOR peeps and a whole bunch of dwarves
Last watched: January 2016
Review Date: December 2012
Number Watches: 2
Format Watched: IMAX, 3D

Oooo. It’s another of these big fantasy epics! Wowza! I’m gonna really enjoy this one!!!

Um, well, yes, ‘suppose.

Let’s get the ‘stuff’ out of the way first. It’s not like Lord of the Rings although the atmosphere, music, scenery, world is obviously the same. It’s the pace and script that’s different.

LOR was long, lingering camera work, allowing details and panning to be drooled over. The Hobbit (part 1) is all about running. Lots of running. I mean, imagine the most runny running you can think of then put it in a lot of walkways and trees and New Zealand mountain scenery. That’s the first installment of the trilogy of The Hobbit.

Not a bad film but very much an indulgence for Peter Jackson and his effects team. I found it a little too runny and a lot of detail was lost along with character definition. It’s a long film at nearly a quillion hours, but I didn’t get itchy feet so that’s ok. However there were large chunks that I suspect I’d get bored with a second time around. Not saying I won’t watch it but maybe that’s more me and my fantasy geekness than the film.

Martin, Ian, Ken Stott, James Nesbitt and all put in good performances for what they’re ask to do and Martin especially was the perfect Bildo, much to my surprise as I’m not keen on his ‘flumuxed’ acting style. I sat corrected on this occaision.

The 3D effect did nothing for me. Yes, occasionally nice touches but I looked over the 3D glasses during some bits of scenery and preferred not having my nose pinched. IMAX, however, is fantastic. Really is the way to go. In this case it was a massive big window into the wonderful world of Middle Earth.

So, did I like it? Yes. Was it fulfilling for me? No. It’s very much part one of a set and Peter J might have been a bit too involved in this to give it the ‘hungry for more’ factor. Instead I’d say he’s made an emptier tale by stretching it across a larger pot of plot twists than he needed to in an attempt to add depth and paradoxically did so at the expense of the main character definitions.

When they release the box set of all of them, it would be good to an editted, single movie.

UPDATE: 2016 January, TV.  Agree with all of the above. This time I could actually see the bits that should have been cut including all of the oh-look-this-is-the-lead-in-arc-to-LOR  parts.  Again, so wish Peter had edited down to two films or even just one slightly longer.

 

Keep DVD?
Yes, in a box set
Watch if on TV?
Yes
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Snog

 

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in 2010s, Action, Fantasy, Film Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

