Alien Versus Predator

Year Released: 2004
Main Stars: Sanaa Lathan, Lance Henrikson
Last watched:  June 2013
Review Date: June 2013
Number Watches: 3
Format Watched: TV

Sanaa rocks. She is cute, strong and very believable. Lance isn’t in it much. The rest don’t matter.

The rest of the monster versus monster thing doesn’t do it for me though. Don’t get me wrong, when I switch over and it’s on I find myself struggling to switch over. There’s something about the sets and camera work that moulds to your eyes like a blanket on a cold morning.

Aliens are not as scary as they might have been but I get the feeling the business case for this one was less horror and more cash-in. Predator isn’t my fave monster anyway and he is too prominent for me as we see his ethics and nicey-nicey attitude poking through. Killers, that’s what we want in a horror.

Did I feel like switching off the second and subsequent times? A bit. There’s a lot of contriving done early on to make the ‘story’ work. Be honest though, what did anyone think this would be? War and Peace? The point is the hunter/hunted/acid for blood bit. Why bother with the plot?

S’alright as a filler. Not scary though.
Keep DVD?
No. I’d put on something else before this.
Watch if on TV?
Yes. I have. Twice! Neither time wanting to watch it all but both times going the distance.
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Snog. The big rasta locks and the pointy tail aside, this one has Sanaa in it. Woof.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Action, Film Review, Horror, SciFi. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

