Resident Evil Extinction

Year Released: 2007
Main Stars:  Milla Jovovich, Oded Fehr, Ali Larter, Iain Glen
Last watched:  June 2013
Review Date:  June 2013
Number Watches: 3
Format Watched: TV

“I knew your sister. She was a homicidal bitch”

This is the one with the sand covered Las Vegas.

I forget which one is which so there’s always a moment about half hour into these when I realise I’ve watched it before. Even then, I keep looking. No, there isn’t much that’s excellent or sets a precendent for zombie movies to come but the extreme violence sans horror is a glossy wrapped sweet that you know has a nice taste. Maybe not as nice as some others and not one you’d buy yourself but it’s still neat.

Milla takes the show, of course. She suits the stockings and sussies look and she manages to look good even with a pack of diseased dogs on her ass. The other guys are what they are – side lines waiting to die. They do a good job but nothing gets in the way of Milla and her monsters.

Best part of these films is the way that nearly everyone else, no matter how attached you might feel to them, dies. And yet, you know there will be a sequel. It’s that kind of comfortable, totally predictable fun.

Good for a laugh, not much of a surprise.

 

Update: I just noticed that I reviewed this one two years ago! Sorry guys, I should be more professional. However I’m glad to say that I gave pretty much the same review so I’ll leave it for the time being as a bit of personal nostalgia. Last time I said I wouldn’t watch it if it came on TV and yet…. I did! That must count towards Milla. She’s georgous!

 
Keep DVD?
As part of the entire collection as I’d probably not watch it on it’s own.
Watch if on TV?
Milla is always worth watching….yes.
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Snog. It’s nice to spend a night with a zombie film once in a while.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Action, Film Review, Horror, Zombie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

