Man of Steel

Year Released: 2013
Main Stars: Who cares. This is crap. Ok, ok. Henry Cavill, Amy Adams, Laurence Fishburne, Russell Crowe, Kevin Costner
Last watched: June 2013
Review Date: June 2013
Number Watches: 1
Format Watched: IMAX, 3D

Is it a turd? Is it a pain? Well, yes to both.

I had high hopes. I had the theme tune to the first one in my head on the way to the cinema. It was going to be that gut feeling that someone can actually fly all over again.

No. You get pounded with fight sequences that smash everything in sight so much you don’t see the fight,  panning cameras giving lots of motion blur which the IMAX just emphasised. 3D ? I didn’t see any reason for it. When there isn’t any fight, there’s shaky cam. The simplest scene involving two people in a room or outside on a balmy evening beside the farm and we get hand held, deliberately shaky cam. WHY?? JUST STOP IT!!! Invest some of the gigantic wads of cash in a few tripods and work out where people will be. Steady it up a bit.

Then there’s the plot. Sorry, did I say that? I meant…. there isn’t a plot. It’s a pile of crap with more holes than a string vest patched with effects that waste time. The characters are uninspiring and with less charm than a pair of shoes. Honestly, neither me nor the wife gave two hoots about anyone. Don’t get taken in by the big named cast either; for instance, Kevin’s part just seemed tacked on and yet his should be an integral part of the back story.

Occasionally I found myself seeing frames that would have fitted a comic, but not a movie.

Get the first Superman film and avoid this one. I didn’t care about him flying, I didn’t care about Krypton or Kansas, I didn’t care about the multitudes of people that the many city smashing scenes would have killed – probably because we don’t see any which made it all a bit softy softy for something with so much violence against office space.

I know I’m a guy (the lack of interest in remembering people’s birthdays gives it away) but I don’t think the girls will get enough of the main man to justify the two and a quarter hours . Get a poster instead.

Unbelievable that such an icon could be made so dull. Christopher Reeves still wears the cape.

Keep DVD?
NO.

Watch if on TV?
Not if I remember it at all.

Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Send back to the ruins of Krypton.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in 2010s, Action, Avoid, Comic / 'Graphic Novel', Don't, Film Review, Hug, Snog, Marry, Avoid, SciFi, Super Hero, Watchability. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

