Casshern

Year Released: 2004
Main Stars: Yûsuke Iseya, Kumiko Asô, Akira Terao (no idea who these guys are but I reckon I’ve seen a couple of them before, especially Akira)
Last watched:  August 2013
Review Date: August 2013
Number Watches: 2
Format Watched: DVD

I didn’t know I’d watched this before I was about ten minutes into it. Then I met the old style computer graphics, the kind you used to get in the cut-scenes of computer games, and suddenly it all came back to me. I’m not saying it’s dreadful, just…. an acquired taste that seems to go on forever.

There’s a lot to be said about Manga inspired comic conversions as there can be amazingly iconic moments where you get lost in the fantasy. However it’s also true to say that a lot of those moments are surrounded by confusing, and in this case dull, scenes that just get a character from one place to another. It’s a bit like the A Team, I guess: set up bad guys, put heroes in tricky situation, heroes work out great plan, big fight, the end. Everything in between is filler to explain why anyone bothers.

In Casshern it’s a bit more confusing because, even at the end, I had no idea who was the good guy and who wasn’t. Really, I was routing for and against everyone all the time. The last half hour is full of possible endings that just keep on going and left me bewildered and that’s a shame as I was getting ok with the whole ‘moral consequences of human existence’ thing. Then I just got bored.

It’s probably one of the moments in film history that made it’s mark for innovation but nowadays I’d stay clear unless you’re a film student.

DVD Extras: Interviews with all the cast where they say the same kind of thing and then other interviews where they praise the director. Deleted scenes too. It’s not the best pile of extras.

Keep DVD?
No

Watch if on TV?
No

Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Avoid by using flashing blades, storm wind charges and big robots.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Action, Comic / 'Graphic Novel', Fantasy, Film Review, SciFi. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

