Public Enemies

Year Released: 2009
Main Stars:  Johnny Depp, Christian Bale
Last watched:  September 2013
Review Date: September2013
Number Watches: 2
Format Watched: TV

Wasn’t sure if I’d seen this one before so kept watching and found out I had but after about half an hour, wouldn’t you know it, I found I had to watch the rest. No idea why as it’s a bit of a dull film.

Johnny and Christian give solid performances but I kept waiting for something to like or hate or just latch onto for either of them. Nup, nothing. It’s a bit like being present at a fender bender car bump that no one is too bothered about. You keep thinking that something will kick off or there might be a bit of interest but no, it’s just two grey cars and a couple of guys swapping details. Dull. Have to admit that I’m still a bit confused as to why I bothered with it all the way through.

I’d hoped the gun fights in the middle of the street would have been good as they didn’t have music pumping over them. You know that feeling when you think about how real and authentic the action is? This could have been like that except for the jumpy camera angles. Not hand-held or shaky cam problems, just not seeing the emptiness of the scene properly. A bit of a low swipe though as the rest of the production was well done, especially the amazing period backgrounds and outfits. Didn’t make the whole any less linear though.

Might be I feel I subconsciously have to watch movies now because of this blog as I really, really didn’t find anything worth watching and I wonder if I’d just have switched over (or off!) if I didn’t feel obliged to plod onwards.
Keep DVD?
No

Watch if on TV?
No

Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Avoid. Not awful but I’m not going to bother with it again.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Action, Film Review, Historic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

