World War Z

Year Released: 2013
Main Stars: Brad Pitt, Peter Capaldi, Glasgow
Last watched: November 2013
Review Date: November 2013
Number Watches: 1
Format Watched: TV (rented movie)

Much hyped and then it seemed to be released without the massive furore I was expecting. I had to see it eventually although no one I know has bothered mentioning they’ve seen this one so I wasn’t sure what to think.

It’s ok.

Living near Glasgow, I was waiting for the bit that was filmed there. I was away when it was being filmed but a friend of a friend was in the crowd running from the zombies! Anyway, the first few minutes have the entire Glasgow sequence so my interest waned after that. It’s not too difficult to be bored with the zombies, there’s so many of them. It’s an interesting concept and filmed really well, effects are superb, but… it gets a bit repetitive.

Brad is ok but seems to be the only guy that has an idea what to do and to be completely honest that might be the bit that makes this all the more dull. It’s not that he’s being an American super hero, no, it’s that he goes through so much and nobody else does.

Most important part for me was seeing Peter as a member of W.H.O. (world health organisation) I mean, this wasn’t a mistake, surely?? Dr Who?? Geddit??  Love that, really love it.

Fun enough if you want but I wouldn’t rush to see it. Now if they made a documentary on the palaver that went around getting the thing made in the first place – that would be one to watch!

 

Keep DVD?
If there were a lot of extras. Apparently they don’t include the debacle of script war Z. Shame.

Watch if on TV?
Yes, out of interest. Don’t think I’d bother another time though.

Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Snog once I’d been heavily infected.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Action, Disaster, Film Review, Horror, Zombie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

