Anchorman : The Legend Of Ron Burgundy

Year Released: 2004
Main Stars: Will Ferrell, Christina Applegate, Paul Rudd, Steve Carell
Last watched: December 2013
Review Date: December 2013
Number Watches: 1
Format Watched: DVD

“Keep it classy”

When this came out I was avoiding it like the plague. I thought it would be another American comedian doing badly timed American jokes that weren’t that funny.

Last week, after all the hype around the new one, and the fact that it was going cheap in a supermarket, me and the wife thought we’d find out what all the fuss was about.

Both of us were smiling and laughing through the entire thing. It’s funny. Not joke a minute but the whole film is kept afloat on a lake of 1960’s chauvinism piss-take that’s been done so well you don’t see the joins. I’m glad I’ve seen it now, that’s how good it is. I suppose, to help straighten out the praise a bit, I have to also add that this isn’t something I’m overly rushed to see again, it’s like a good sketch on TV but one that’s not too long and not too short, it’s just right. There isn’t anything in my mind that says I’d get more out of it a second time around although, I guess, if it was on TV I could probably be caught by the Burgundy again.

American humour? A bit but not the Mel Brooks kind where you cringe. Will is wonderful, Christina as well and Steve, Paul and the other guys have the right kind of stupid energy to sustain the story.

You won’t regret having an evening of Ron Burgundy.

DVD Extras: The rehearsals are a nice touch to see. They’re a bit more like bloopers but you get to see actors acting in a simple room, putting together their act. Interviews, auditions, ‘making of’ and the music video. To Ron I say, it’s a good package, a real handful of stuff to get a hold of.

Keep DVD?
No. Think I’ve seen it all now.

Watch if on TV?
Yes, for a laugh.

Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Snog. In a very manly way, of course.

About Simon Trail

I'm just another film watcher with an opinion.
This entry was posted in Comedy, Film Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

