Resident Evil: Afterlife

Year Released: 2010
Main Stars: Milla Jovovich, Ali Carter
Last watched: January 2014
Review Date: January 2014
Number Watches: 1
Format Watched: DVD

So this one fills in the gap for me in the series. I can now see a few things that were pointed at in the next one. Still doesn’t make it very good.

I’d say this is much more of a Zombie fest and quite like the original Living Dead movie in many ways. Certainly glossy and with all the pazazz (is that the right spelling?) of a big budget flick.

No quibbles about the main actors or the effects and stunts as these are quite awesome and as a zombie-it-up show, this one ranks quite highly in my opinion although without any real scares. The problem is that there doesn’t seem to be any point. Story is only a fraction of a percentage of the film. It’s just a bit… dare I say it… old hat? Obviously a very shiny and glittery hat but still a bit done-before.

Beats the next one in the series though. And probably, if I had to view them all again, I’d put it in second place to the very first outing. Not enough to seek it out but perhaps enough to watch at some crowd event like a scifi convention. I also wonder if it was done specifically for 3D rather than anything else.

DVD Extras: I don’t know if it was my cheap DVD or not but I only got a commentary (boring! who bothers with these except real geeks???) and a making of which was actually ok and showed the physical work being put in.
Keep DVD?
No

Watch if on TV?
No

Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Sorry, Milla. Avoid.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Action, Film Review, SciFi, Zombie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

