The Artist

Year Released: 2011
Main Stars: Jean Dujardin, Bérénice Bejo, Uggi
Last watched: January 2014
Review Date: January 2014
Number Watches: 1
Format Watched: DVD

“With pleasure”

A film that took Hollywood by storm, even though it’s all about Hollywood? I suspect many points were won in the Oscars because film lovies like seeing their chosen subject endorsed.

Having said that…. (I seem to do that phrase a lot these days. Maybe I’m waiting for a film to be all good rather than have any obvious flaws? Dunno.)

Put your notions of boring silent films aside as you’ll find you concentrate on what is happening on screen and how it’s being performed so much that you get involved without even realising. I started out thinking this flick was just that, a well-known flick. Within a few minutes I was settling down and letting the charm and enthusiasm wash over me like some indulgent chocolates. The acting is so b&w silent movie that it feels like another character in the film and all those settings are wonderfully quaint, really inspiring the feel of an old movie but with more pace.

Obviously the lighting has been well thought out and contrasts really show up the drama as well as the funny bit. Jean, Berenice, Uggi and the extras seem to have been filmed during the 1920s rather than in a recreation so I guess that signifies a good production and the plot, what there is of it, sits nicely beside the fact that this is an original silent film and one that I’d say is not a copy of the originals but rather a continuation. Well worth it and fascinating. Also, you start to not notice there is only music and no sound. That happens to you quite early on and I found myself waiting eagerly to find out what they were saying.

Downside? There’s always one of those and in this case I think it’s the re-watchability. For me, there isn’t much I’d keep the DVD for. Mind you, if it was on and I was in front of the TV at the time… maybe. Don’t be put off, give it a go and captivated by the light atmosphere and, dare I say it, the colourfulness! I dared.

DVD Extras: A lot of the scenery and costumes and filming as well as a very small gag-reel. In the three or four ‘how they did that’ bits there is some repeatition but the fascination is always with the silent, b&w effects.
Keep DVD?
No

Watch if on TV?
No

Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Snog.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in Comedy, Drama, Film Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

