Gravity

Year Released: 2013
Main Stars:  Sandra Bullock, George Clooney, Space
Last watched: May 2015
Review Date: May 2015
Number Watches: 1
Format Watched: BluRay

“I’ve got a bad feeling about this mission”

Beautiful, incredible, compelling. It’s one of those films where these words actually apply. Don’t let that put you off though. I stayed away from this for ages since everyone said it was so good. You know the feeling – they say ot’s good but what do they know, right? Well, grudgingly, I have to say they got it right.

It’s got scares, stuff and people flying around in space and superb acting from Sandra. My wife didn’t rate George here but I thought he put in a solid performance too.

What can you say about the sets and scenery? Not a pixel out of place. Plot is basic but not needed since it’s a rollercoaster (and I’m betting they’ve had weeks of meeting to see if they could make a real one) and the details leave you a bit breathless. There’s only one moment of physics I’m not keen on (Sandra, George, pulling on rope, momentum) but it’s all good.

Not the huge, put-a-break-in-the-middle-and-make-a-cup-of-tea-before-commencing-the-second-half event I’d thought it would be. No, it’s gripping and I didn’t grudge any of it.

 

Extras: Extensive. Really good too although some of the discussion about the ‘symbolism’ and ‘metaphor’ are a bit arsey. Come on, it’s a film about a space disaster. However, the extras are well worth pursuing, even though they might seem to be a bit tech-heady. Really, stick with it and be amazed, there’s a lot of stuff there about the process and the acting that mean you get a much better feeling for what the 50ish Sandra put herself through…and you get to see her in tight pants a lot more too. (For the non-British, that’s underwear.)


Keep DVD?

Yep.
Watch if on TV?
I’ll say no. I’d prefer to enjoy it in my own time.
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Marry. Then honeymoon in zero G. Well on wires since it’s all too scary sounding up there in the real space place.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in 2010s, Action, Disaster, Film Review, I currently have this as a keepsie, SciFi and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

