Paris, Texas

Year Released: 1984
Main Stars: Harry Dean Stanton, Dean Stockwell, Nastassja Kinski, Hunter Carson, Ry Cooder and his music
Last watched: May 2015
Review Date: May 2015
Number Watches: 3
Format Watched: BluRay

“There was a man and a woman”

Beautiful music. I’m a big Ry Cooder fan and this is THE side guitar soundtrack.
Beautiful scenery. I certainly like my landscapes done like this if the film is going to be one of those empty, thoughtful ones.
Sometimes dodgy direction and acting. Well, there’s only three important roles in the whole film and they lead up to that end scene. Both are superb.

Nastassja is so very cute. Harry knocks your socks off with his laid back style. Hunter, the kid, is very cool and stands his ground with the rest of the cast.

I could watch this again and that’s saying something for a script that doesn’t have a whole lot going on. Not to everyone’s taste, I grant you. Loads of older-movie styles going on in the emptiness but I think it still has something to offer.

Mind you, I’ve lent it out to someone and don’t mind if I don’t get it back. Not because I want to lose it, just because it’s a taste you have to be ready for – in the mood, as it were.

Blu Ray Extras: Some bits and pieces but not what I would expect from a film that’s so long in the tooth. Where’s the ‘what they all think now’ interviews and documentary?


Keep DVD?

Think so.
Watch if on TV?
No. It’s one of those mind-set movies.
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Marry in some church sitting in the middle of a desert with nothing near it for miles.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in 1980s, Drama, Film Review, I currently have this as a keepsie and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

