Star Trek 5 : The Final Frontier

Year Released: 1989
Main Stars: William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, DeForest Kelley, James Doohan, George Takei, Walter Koenig, Nichelle NicholsDavid Warner , Laurence Luckinbill
Review Date: November 2015
Last watched: August 2015
Number Watches: 2
Format Watched: DVD

“Please, Captain, not in front of the Klingons.”

“I miss my old chair”

“Your pain runs deep”

“Row, row, row your boat”

This one doesn’t get played much on TV. It’s like the sibling who was bad and now no one wants them to turn up because of the awkward silences. But I like it! I cant remember thinking much of the movie when it came out and it’s the one William directs so perhaps it’s not as ‘polished’ but, gosh darn it, give this flick a go! You’ll see David Warner in it. I met him and got a photo with him you know. Yes, I did.

From the start there is a bit of punchy attitude and the sets are much more old-school. In fact I’d say this has a much more modern intro than anyone gives it credit for. Acting and script aren’t as ropey as you’d expect and the scifi elements are good enough for a romp of this nature. Actually Laurence is quite cool as a preacher type and David adds a good deal of British stage presence when he appears all too briefly. Perhaps the ending is a bit pants and the plot get’s a little silly but aside from that, and a strange Nichelle dance on a sand dune, there isn’t much that’s any more wrong than any other scifi. Nothing much to write home about either I suppose other than David Warner who, I might say, I met and got a photo with. Nice guy.

The crew are very much older now and it’s more about their attitude than it is their creaking-around antics. Definitely must have been a few of them thinking this was their last. Mind you, perhaps David Warner knew better. He wanted his photo with me, you know. Who can refuse such a wonderful actor?

 

DVD Extras: I got the box set (Original Motion Picture Collection) of all the films and started watching them through so the DVD extras merged. For the most part there were some nice touches and a lot of effects parts with one or two interesting nuggets on each but not masses of wonderful insight. No great bloopers.

 

Keep DVD?
Yes.

Watch if on TV?
Yes but they don’t play this one.

Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Snog. Did I mention I got a photo with David Warner?

 

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in 1980s, Action, Film Review, I currently have this as a keepsie, SciFi and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

