Dead Men Don’t Wear Plaid 

Year Released:1982
Main Stars: Steve Martin, Rachel Ward,Carl Reiner , loads of old b&w actors
Review Date: May 2016
Last watched: May 2016
Number Watches: 2.5
Format Watched: TV

So before I get lynched by the mob of ‘we love everything by American comic geniuses’ I have to say there is a soft spot in my heart for Everything Steve Martin and that it gives me no pleasure to announce that some of his films are not that good.

Such is DMDWP.

A b&w piece nicking clips from old films and knitting them together with Steve doing his best rugged 40s PI impression throughout.

But it doesn’t work now. It was probably something funny in itself when made but as a film nowadays there isn’t anything funny about the script except in the last ten minutes and the acting is just a little too serious. Looks to me like it was a bit of a giggle at the time.

For a kid of the 70s it was fun and odd with a hint that I’d seen the clips of old stuff before on Saturday mornings. For someone today I don’t think there is anything to ‘get’ anymore.

When I watched it this time on TV they’d also cut out the boob adjusting, ‘out of whack’ references which I remember so well from my teenage so all in all a very unsatisfying last view.

Watchability (once, twice, etc.)
Never. I have a hard time saying that but the script doesn’t stand up to any scrutiny at all. Sorry, Steve.
Keep DVD?
No.
Watch if on TV?
No.
Hug, Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Hug. I mean, this is Steve Martin. You always have to hug Steve Martin. If I get to meet him, I want to give him a big man-hug.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in 1980s, Comedy, Don't, Film Review, Hug, Thriller and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

