Sicario

Year Released: 2015
Main Stars: Emily Blunt, Josh Brolin, Benicio Del Toro
Review Date: May 2016
Last watched: May 2016
Number Watches: 1
Format Watched: DVD

So many words to use here – brutal, violent, shocking, gripping. All absolutely on the mark. Not many films can keep to everything they set out to be. There’s always a section that slows or goes all mushy for no reason. Not here. It’s not exactly non-stop but it doesn’t become sentimental. In many ways there’s a hard-to-believe quality but that’s just because when you see what’s being portrayed you really don’t want to believe it. I’d say this film stays true to itself and puts the burden of responsibility squarely on your shoulders. What you get from it is up to you.

Josh and Benicio are superb. They always are when they’re cast right. I was worried about Emily being the soft side of the film since women tend to get used that way by the studios but I should have had more faith as she delivers a belter of a performance. Any or all could get awards, it’s that kind of movie. Not OTT awards but real, hard hitting, no nonsense stuff.

So is it worth a punt of your hard earned cash? Well, now….this is one rock-hard SOB that turns into more of a documentary than a story and it’s such a horrible display on screen at times that I can easily recommend to adults who want to expand their knowledge of the seedy side that exists on the Mexico/USA border. Defo not for kids though. Also not for couples on a date or a bit of light viewing. Not boring in any sense and although I wanted to be not-watching it a few times, there isn’t a moment when you are not in the story awaiting the next step. No tea-making opportunities here.

No idea how they made it based on the look of some of the locations. Production standards are very high and all very believable. My DVD didn’t have any extras so I think I missed out there due to my being cheap. Plot/Script – no problems. Camera work wasn’t all shaky all the time (I hate shaky-cam) and what effects there were (must have been) were well hidden/placed.

A very well made film but one I’m not sure I’d watch again since it was just on the edge of my tolerance for the grotesque. It’s not a horror and there isn’t any particular gore but there are scenes that are gonna stick in your mind, even though they’re far away.

I’d say yes, you need to see this. Just don’t expect to feel all happy at the end. It’s certainly fire up your mind though.

Watchability (once, twice, etc.)
Twice. I guess I couldn’t leave it at just once.
Keep DVD?
No
Watch if on TV?
Yes. Even knowing what’s coming up I think I’d be gripped enough to watch again.
Hug, Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Snog because they said I had to! …and I cried inside but didn’t show the fear!

About Simon Trail

I'm just another film watcher with an opinion.
This entry was posted in 2010s, Action, Cop buddy movie, Drama, Film Review, Snog, Thriller, Twice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

