Two Days In The Valley

Year Released:1996
Main Stars: Danny Aiello , James Spader , Glenne Headly , Eric Stoltz , Charlize Theron Teri Hatcher, Jeff Daniels
Review Date: May 2016
Last watched: April 2016
Number Watches: 1
Format Watched: TV

There’s promise in them thar valleys but it doesn’t quite pan out. Lots of expecting-things-to-get-heated-or-go-wrong but they kinda just, well, don’t. It’s more a mystery about who is the oddest oddball of the lot than why any of it is happening. Ended up not caring but, sort of like chewing gum, I was going through the motions on this one and eeking out the small hint of spearmint rather than noticing any explosion of flavour. Eventually it was finished and I didn’t need it any more.

Each actor gives a scripted weird and confused performance (except James and Charlize who had to remain just weird) and for that reason I’d probably, maybe, might-do, someday, who can tell… watch it again, but right now I’d leaning towards not bothering.  Giving them their due, it was good to see Jeff doing serious and Danny getting a better part than his usual funny side-kick. Also the lines of the script were fine and I guess the direction was ok, it was the plot that didn’t seem to hit the mark enough on the black-humour stakes so ended being a bit flat. Maybe it was of it’s time? Am I being too harsh 20 years on?

If I do ever see them all doing their strangeness everywhere I’d have to come back and complete this review as I don’t want to give up on it just yet. Although – geez, I’m flipping from Snog to Avoid quite quickly here – well, I mean I’d guess this could become some kind of cult for weird film-buffs who try to ‘get’ all the plot twists and understand all the motivations.

If you’re not going down that route then I’d say avoid it unless you’re on drugs or some other trip since the funny parts are not funny enough and the twists are not twisty enough.

I’ll not avoid it just yet. I’ll wait until next time. Even though there might never be a next time. Does that make sense…?

DVD Extras: Interviews and behind the scenes of making of some scenes. Nice for the price I paid for the DVD!! (big fat zero)

Watchability (once, twice, etc.)
Once.
Keep DVD?
No.
Watch if on TV?
No.
Hug, Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Hug.

About Simon Trail

I'm just another film watcher with an opinion.
This entry was posted in 1990s, Comedy, Film Review, Hug, Once, Thriller and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

