Good Bye Lenin

Year Released:2003
Main Stars: Daniel Brühl, Katrin Saß, Chulpan Khamatova
Review Date: July 2016
Last watched: June 2016
Number Watches: 1
Format Watched: DVD

Have to admit, not one I would normally pick up anywhere or choose to watch but a friend who is really into films gave me this and I could not let him down. To be honest with you, though, I don’t think his tastes are particularly good but don’t let him know that.

So going in with a ‘have to watch this to get it out the way’ feeling, I was caught by the oddity of the story. Background of East/West Germany divide being removed and all that, had me thinking about what it was really like and probably still is in countries that have such situations. So I kept watching and pretending that I was being political.

Then it takes a turn that is comical but in a cringe-worthy way, not funny-ha-ha. The box says it’s a comedy and I can see why they say so but for me it’s not a comic script. I had to slog it out and you know what kept it ok? The depth of characters from Daniel land Katrin. I mean, the others were clearly good as well but their parts were quite small. Daniel was so deeply intriguing and Katrin has a kind of presence that the whole time was spent wanting to know what they would do next. Strong cast, really.

Good? Hmm. Strange. Not weird just not my usual and a story I just don’t go for although I’m glad I did.

Overall I’d recommend it to a student or someone looking for something different. Not full of action and the single premise of change and not changing that it resolves to is well done although not to everyone’s taste. For simpletons like me, it’s one I can get every-so-often but not all the time. Give it a go, let me know how to assess it!

DVD Extras: None.

Watchability (once, twice, etc.)
Once. Twice at a push but for me it’s only once.
Keep DVD?
No.
Watch if on TV?
No. Too much thinking involved.
Hug, Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Hug. The ‘cringey’ parts outweigh the good parts for me.

About Simon Trail

There has long been a tradition that a knight will show a crest and / or motto of his family. I shall endeavour to provide such a distinguishing and immediately descriptive thingy over my management of this site. Please be patient. Or Doctor if you're David Tennent.
This entry was posted in 2000s, Drama, Film Review, Hug, Once and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

