All Is Lost

Year Released: 2013
Main Stars: Robert Redford
Review Date: December 2016
Last watched: December 2016
Number Watches: 1
Format Watched: DVD

Let me try to explain why I think you should act like Shrodinger’s cat and watch but not watch this filum.

I found it a bit like a bungee jumping – I WANT to have done it but I don’t want to actually do it. Robert’s performance and the experiences portrayed are things I want to have seen and know about but the film itself is a very difficult not to fast forward through.

There are parts that just take 10 or 20 seconds too long to get to the point that you know is about to happen. This might not seem to be much but when there’s no dialogue and only one set, there’s no room for boring bits. Robert is very good and I hadn’t expected him to still be a good actor at his age but he kept me thinking about what was happening and I didn’t actually think of him as anything other than the guy in the boat. It’s just that there were moments when I longed for something a bit faster to happen. I know that would be out of place and I’m going to say that the editing could have been tighter to stop my need to wander.

However… I’m glad I managed to get through as the last 20 mins are a good pay off for all that work previously. It’s not going to be good for everyone though and I imagine most people will just head off to another room or do the ironing or start hitting Facebook.

If you’ve got through then stick with the credits as well and see what they say about the boats. Good one.

DVD Extras: None.

Watchability (once, twice, etc.)
Never. A bit odd but also once. You need to want to though. Seriously.
Keep DVD?
No.
Watch if on TV?
No.
Hug, Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Hug before the boat sinks.

About Simon Trail

I'm just another film watcher with an opinion.
This entry was posted in 2010s, Action, Disaster, Don't, Drama, Film Review, Hug, Hug, Snog, Marry, Avoid, Once, Watchability and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

