Drunken Master

Year Released: 1978
Main Stars: Jackie Chan
Last watched: August 2011
Number Watches: 1

“You’ll be a body without an arsehole!”

Some translations should be avoided. The version of Jackie’s Drunken Master I saw was dubbed by someone with a shouty voice and an attempt at being hip but ending up as a posh hippy ‘dude’.

I had to watch it. This was one of those JC movies I’d never hired, borrowed or wanted to buy so when I managed to tape it on the digital taping device called Tivo, it was as if I was filling in the background to a historical figure. This was a defining moment for Jackie. Shame it’s crap.

Well, not as crap as it could have been since the kung fu styles are very much on display here. The fights are incredibly well choreographed and energetic dances rather than fast action and it’s not got anything for anyone not interested in kung fu or Jackie. I have to say that the last couple of fights are really good and the humour is evidently trying to push through, albeit drops of water in a desert of empty dialog. Empty with expletives that shouldn’t have got in, that is!

My mission has been accomplished. I seen it. Now I don’t have to. I’d love to edit most of these early JCs and make a series of shorts that would have a bit more punch(see what I did there??), perhaps get Jackie to dubb them properly. Oh, another mission! Quick – to the Phooey Mobile!

Keep DVD?
No.
Watch if on TV?
No.
Snog, Marry, Avoid?
Drunken Snog.

About Simon Trail

I'm just another film watcher with an opinion.
This entry was posted in Action, Film Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment